Create an account

or

Thread Scarlett 2i2: Popping and device disconnecting

• 42 replies
  • 27 participants
  • 27 followers
1 Scarlett 2i2: Popping and device disconnecting
Hey,

This problem has been doing my head in for a year now and now that I work as a professional I just have to get this fixed:

System:

Windows 8.1 64bit,
Scarlett 2i2 (Drivers 3.1.10) with Behringer Truth monitors plugged

What happens is that I hear a loud pop from my speakers followed by my 1 & 2 input knob lights flashing. Also when this happens the device briefly disappears from my Windows audio devices menu for a short while. The problem is inconsistent and can happen 1-10 times in a minute, once in an hour or I can go a day without it happening.

Also 1 problem I'd appreciate if someone can answer: On Pro Tools 11 when I choose Scarlett to use ASIO4ALL drivers it crashes Pro Tools. What gives?

Cheers for any help!

EDIT: It's now clear that the Ethernet cable is the cause. However I don't know how to solve this

[ Post last edited on 01/28/2015 at 02:43:56 ]

Show first post
Hello there, I have exactly the same problem here with my Scarlett 2i2 and Windows 8.1
My PC is already optimized and it's running with AMD A8 chipset, 4GB RAM.
Does anyone have a solution for this? The fact is that sometimes I can record and mix for hours without any problem and then the device disconnects all of sudden and I have to restart my computer. I tried to use every USB port and nothing changed. On other occasions it happens at least two or three times in a row...and it's pretty frustrating! Maybe I have to wait for a bug fix to be released??

Hi Luca,

You mention that you have optimised your PC, but can you confirm that you have run through the power management setup guide on the previous page of this thread? Specifically the USB port power management?
If so, can you tell me what kinda of session you're working on (how many channels? heavy plugin usage etc?), as well as what buffer size you work at?