Add this product to
  • My former gear
  • My current gear
  • My wishlist
Echo Layla 24
Images
1/43
Echo Layla 24

Thread Echo Audio Layla 20 loud HUM or BUZZ sound from outputs -- FIXED!!

• 0 comment
  • 1 participant
  • 0 follower
1 Echo Audio Layla 20 loud HUM or BUZZ sound from outputs -- FIXED!!
Echo Audio Layla 20 loud HUM or BUZZ sound from outputs -- FIXED!!

Hi folks,

I have this old Echo Layla 20 sound card that had a really loud buzz or hum coming out of the left channel. If you have a similar problem, even if your board is not a Layla 20, read on, you might find what you are looking for.

I was able to fix this board today and so I want to share this information in case anyone else has the same problem. I am not an electrical engineer and I have NO background in circuitry or anything.

I am purposefully being verbose for the sake of search engines. Problem, broken, defective, error, distortion, digital audio, you get the idea.

The device is from 1998 and it has served me well over the years, haven't used it in a while, but yesterday I noticed this horrible noise that was almost louder than the signal, from the left output channels.

I was troubleshooting the entire audio setup and was able to isolate it down to the layla, with it plugged into the wall only (removed all other jacks and plugs) and with headphones plugged into the left channel, i could hear this buzz. I even tried other outlets to make sure it wasn't a dirty AC signal.

SO the layla was generating this buzz. Those of you that are electrical engineers already know where i'm going with this, but this post is for the benefit of the rest of us who don't know about all this stuff.