Images
1/16
IK Multimedia Amplitube 3

Thread minimizing instances of amplitube

• 3 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 2 followers
1 minimizing instances of amplitube
I have a 2011 macbook pro w/ 16gb RAM to avoid running into problems with CPU usage. However, as I'm still relatively new to tracking and mixing studio-quality music, I think I'm missing something here...

I record guitar tracks multiple times them mult them and put together the best 'master' guitar track, say for the rhythm guitar of verse 1. However, on each guitar, there's an instance of amplitube 3 running, and after say 3 tracks, it really makes my 16gb of RAM run like 1gb...

This may be a stupid or impossible idea, but as they all have the same settings, I thought perhaps setting up amplitube as a send instead of an insert might do the trick, so I can send all of the guitar tracks to a single instance of amplitube (when all tracks use the same amp settings), but this didn't seem to do the trick, and either just ended up with direct guitar signals or perhaps a veryyyyy slight crunch (when my settings were for heavy crunch).

Basically here's my question: are there tricks to minimizing CPU usage of amplitube, particularly when you have several tracks using the exact same amp settings? It's making the playback cut in and out and introducing different artifacts while recording, which gets in the way of a solid source track.

Hopefully someone can help, thanks!
Hi Martin--Amplitube 3 has three different quality modes, which can be set from the main window on the upper right. The manual describes them as follows:
"­HI:­offers­ the­ best­ sound­ quality­ at­ a­ higher­ CPU­ usage
MID:­offers ­a ­very­ good­ sound­ quality­ at ­a­ reasonable­ CPU­ usage
ECO:­offers­a­ good­ sound­ quality­ at ­a­ very­ low ­CPU­ usage"