or
Create an account

or

Thread The process of making a song

• 3 replies
  • 4 participants
  • 4 followers
1 The process of making a song
I wanted to see what people thought was the correct process of making or coming up with a song.

I've discussed this with a few people but there is no constant answer. Everyone has their own opinion.

So let's take the ingredients of a song...

--

The beat / rhythm

Lyrics

Idea / reason / meaning

Singing

Recording

Publishing

--

Am I missing something out and to you, what is the correct order and why?

Thanks guys - look forward to seeing people's thoughts

So far I find that there is no particular order to creating a song, as a guitarist I often find that the music tends to speak for itself telling me what it wants and in what order. Other times I find that when I look to a conventional method I end up playing someone else's music, i.e. songs I have heard on the radio or on CD, my best aproach is just to let myself find my own voice, yes, over and over again, that no two songs ever sound the same. There is one formula that is standard...intro, verse, verse, chorus, verse, bridge, chorus. I hope you find this helpful.

It depends what you're doing really.  If i'm making a song on reason, or some computer production station (LIke Fruity Loops)  I'd make a hook or 2 first, then i'd start laying it out in a proper song shape (i.e.. AABA, or ABAC)  Then i'd add in effects and crashes, then add  swing it up and mix it down.

If i was recording a song in the studio, I'd first try and get the rhythm section down (drums and Bass, or other rhythm instrumenst) I usually record some scratch vocals at this time to make sure everyone has a good idea of the shape of the song.   After this i'd start overdubbing any solo's, after that i'd start overdubbing Vocals.  Then i'd auto-tune the Vox and Bass (and any monohonic instrument) and start the mixing process.

I think getting the rhythm section down first (to a click!) is crucial.