Create an account

or

Thread Software Suggestions

• 9 replies
  • 5 participants
  • 5 followers
1 Software Suggestions
Hi All,

I have been playing and writing music for piano for a couple of years and would like to take the step to integrate my digital piano with my computer (Windows Vista). I have looked at various pieces of software but a lot of the information and terminology goes over my head.
What I basically want to do is be able to record midi from my piano into the computer, and, once in the computer, I want to be able to change the tune to other realistic-sounding instruments (no 16 bit Super Nintendo nonsense). I would then be able to layer the different instruments on top of each other to produce a score.

Please can you advise what software I might want to look at, and what the crucial factors should be when making my decision. Additionally, do I need a special sound card to be able to do anything like this?

I have got:
Windows Vista PC
Yamaha Clavinova digital piano
Midi to USB cable

Thank you for your help,
Tom.

Hi Tom,
There are many virtual instruments and MIDI software/samplers you can use. Depending on the kind of MIDI instruments you want to use you can have a look at Native Instruments, they have a free Kontakt player that you can try before maybe jumping to the full version. Kontakt accepts third party instrument banks apart from their own virtual instruments, so the choice of instruments you can use is very interesting. MOTU MachFive and the UVI Workstation are also an option for "general" instruments.

If you need only pianos, have a look at Synthogy and Pianoteq for example.
Then, depending on your budget, if you're looking for orchestral instruments, VSL and EastWest/Quantum Leap are almost must-haves but quite expensive, Spitfire also, LASS...