• 4 replies
  • 4 participants
  • 0 follower
1 mutiple instances of midi in sonar 3.0
does anyone know how i can use 2 or more midi signals with sonar 3.0 ie:

midi keyboard-channel 1- softsynth
2nd midi keyboard- (im guessing channel 2?)- softsynth 2
and so on

i want to be able to play both synths at the same time with out ever having to touch the mouse during live play. i know its possible, just cant figure it out. i am pretty new to midi so it could be extremely simple and i am just not seeing it. could someone point me in the right direction please?
thanks
I'm not really sure I understand what you want to do.
Are you just using Sonar as an expander for live performances?
absolutely not.
all i am trying to do is to have 2 midi keyboards controling 2 different soft synths at the same time. it has to be possible.
ok, my friend wants to throw away all of his hardware synths and play live via computer with softsynths. we do not know how to set up 2 midi signals sepratly controling 2 different softsynths at the same time.
i am trying to do the same at my studio. thanks so much for any help you can give me.
Nihility-

I'm not a Sonar user, but I use it's daddy- Cakewalk Pro Audio. I would think it'd be similar :?

You assign a soft synth to a track, right? The track is designated as a midi track in the track properties dialog. The midi source is also designated there. So, if you have one synth set up to transmit on midi channel 1, you would set the source on the corresponding Sonar track to midi channel 1. Set the other synth to midi channel 2, and set the corresponding source for track 2 to midi channel 2.

Make sure the "local" mode on both synths is off (or the volume is turned down), otherwise you'll hear the synth playing as well as the soft synth. You just want your synth to act as a midi controller keyboard.

Hope this is clear. If not, look in the help file under "track properties" or "assign midi channel"
The Axeman (##(===> Cuts From My New Blues CD